In All Your Ways

unnamed.jpg

I won’t even pretend that this whole home search has been easy. I honestly tried to think about all of  the houses we have looked at over the past ten months and we have looked at least 30, maybe even 40. That’s a ton of different houses all in different locations between the town we have called home for all of our lives and my husband’s new job. My mind has been completely overwhelmed. I totally felt like Goldilocks eating the three bear’s porridge. Viewing each house, we would find something that one or both of us didn’t like and then mark it off the list.

I’m sure you guys are probably tired of hearing about it, because honestly I am! But some exciting things are coming our way, we finally after t-e-n looooong months of searching have a house under contract. YAY!

I love to Bible Journal real time things that are happening in our lives, so that later I could look back on them, and I wanted to incorporate this house hunt in that. I thought that Proverbs 3:5-6 was perfect for this time. Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

You see, in this house hunt we both struggled with location, we were looking at such a broad area we never could pin point a town where we wanted to live. It wasn’t until I realized that I needed to give this burden of finding a house to God. I knew then that when we found the house we were supposed to be in, we would both know.

Thomas and I both had our own ideas and wants, but God knew where we were going to end up, and that’s why we could never find what we were looking for.  I was being incredibly selfish and didn’t want to sacrifice what I am familiar with. I let fear override my mind and all of the unanswered questions keep me from giving any house a chance. It’s funny because we went and looked at the house that we now have under contract back in January, and I found a million reasons why it wouldn’t work then.

One day I opened my Bible to Proverbs 3 and I thought of the house from Up. Ya know, Carl ties hundreds of balloons to their home to take him to the one place Ellie always wanted to go. So I thought what a perfect illustration for what we were experiencing. We had to tie balloons to this dream of finding a house, and let God be at the helm and guide us where we needed to be. The scripture doesn’t say in some of your ways, but in ALL of your ways. We can’t say that we have all of our faith in Him, when we are still adjusting the sails to make things work in our own favor. We have to give every ounce of our thoughts to Him and allow Him to work through us and use us in ways only He can and let His plan for our lives come to fruition.

I started working on this page in my journaling Bible on a Thursday and by that Sunday we had revisited that house, had put an offer in, it was accepted and under contract. It always blows my mind how God works. Sometimes we need something as simple as a animated movie to remind us that we don’t always have to be in control to get where we are supposed to be. God knows exactly what He’s doing, and sometimes we have to get ourselves out of the way and just trust, follow and be obedient to His plan.

One thought on “In All Your Ways

Leave a Reply

