Dear Younger Me

Since I started this blog, this subject has been on my heart. The song “Dear Younger Me” by Mercy Me has been playing every time I have gotten in my car the past two days. I started writing this blog about a month ago and every time that I would get in my car then, the song was on. The lyrics are very similar to  what I’ve wanted to share from my heart. I’ve ran from it and fought with myself about sharing it, but God keeps putting this song in front of me, so I feel like someone out there needs to hear the message so here it goes:

Dear Younger Me,

First of all, always remember that your worth is in Christ alone. It’s not found in the negative thoughts you think about yourself and definitely not in what others think and say about you. Matter of fact, do not let those voices keep you from living your greatest potential. Do not listen to the voices saying you can’t, you aren’t good enough, that no one cares about you, that you are unworthy; BECAUSE YOU ARE. I want you to love yourself, for you. Be and accept the beautiful person that God created you to be.

I’ve thought a lot if I could go back in time and change things, would I? Absolutely not, and I’ll tell you why. I am so much more grateful for what I have now because of the trials, hardships and hurt you are facing now. I know that seems silly, but you learn strength, perseverance, how to love, how it feels to fall, and how it feel when God lifts you up out of that pain through the trials you face now. The times that it seems you are at your end, you aren’t, you are far from it. The pain and disappointments you face now, you will look back at and laugh. They aren’t going to end your world, they aren’t going to even worry you tomorrow.

Even though you think you do, you don’t know what love means. First you will need to fall in love with God, and then He will send you the perfect man to fall in love with. Only then will you understand the true definition of love. My heart breaks just thinking about what I settled for in my youth because I did not think I could have anything better. Now, I look at my life and God has blessed me with a husband that I could only dream of as a teenager. I cherish my husband so much more because of the emotional and physical hurt that I experienced at such a tender age. Would I want to go through that hurt again, no, absolutely not, but I know I would never appreciate what I have now if not for my past.

Put more focus into a relationship with God than any other relationship in your life. When you put God first, everything else will fall right into place where it needs to be. I promise, this will make all the difference in your life.

Cherish the little moments and make memories with your family, because in the end they are the ones that will always be standing by your side. Friends come and go, but family is constant. One day you are going to wake up and realize that your parents are getting older, or that you wish you had more memories with your grandparents when they are gone and you can’t make more; so make them now.

Every choice you make, sets up your tomorrows. You may think it doesn’t but it will totally surprise you one day when you realize how much your life changed because of one simple decision. One day you will realize that the little, tiny, teensie weensie things that you choose day to day are all connected. The silliest things make the biggest difference in your life. Spend your days being a light for the Lord and show His love to everyone you meet. There is enough darkness in the world, use your platform to show others what God can do.

Tonight at church, our pastor shared a message about the crosses that we carried. Remember that when God gives you a trial, He’s been there before you. He knows your days, He knows what tomorrow holds, He knows how you feel. No matter how dark it gets, remember He’s there – you are not alone. He loves, cares and knows more about you than any one person on this earth ever will. You are His child, He set you apart, and He will guide your ways.

Now here I am at 25, I’ve faced challenges and heart aches I never imagined I would have to face. But, I’ve realized along the way that they are all a part of the beautiful life that God has chosen to give me. Every single second of what I went through before this moment, has molded me and shaped me into who I am today. Be grateful, even for the trials, be grateful.

Love,

Older Me

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dear Younger Me

  1. I love reading your blog, Jordan! I wish I would take time to reflect on my thoughts like this! You are such an amazing person and it is so encouraging to read the things you write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

