For What I Have Now

“I still remember the days that I prayed for what I have now.”

This quote has been burned on my heart for the past few weeks; so much that I had Imperfect Dust, a shop on Etsy {link here!}, create a custom sign for me. I want this sign to be something I read every single day, as a daily reminder, to just be grateful for what I have. When I sent the request to the shop owner, she sent back to me: “Just to double check! Do you want it to say “I still remember the days I prayed for what I have now” or “I still remember the days I prayed for the things I have now”? I have seen it with “the things” and wondered if that’s what you meant originally. Of course, I don’t mind either way.” I read it and instantly knew I wanted the word what on there, not things.  I told Danielle my thoughts, and she said “Amen, girl! :)”

unnamed.jpg

If there is anything I have learned during the past few months, it’s that the things don’t matter. {Of course I love to splurge every now and then and buy something for myself, but who doesn’t?} Ya’ll, we seriously have all of our furniture and belongings packed to the ceiling and stuffed in a single garage space in my in-laws garage. We have all of our day to day stuff in the same room of their house that we are living in. But without the clutter around me, I’ve been able to enjoy my evenings and spend quality time with my husband without all of the stuff of owning a home to get in my way. It has been truly amazing.

 I have been reflecting on how much God has truly blessed me with, and again I’m not referring to the “stuff”. My life has not always been as amazing as it looks online. There’s some moments that have been down right scary. I could have chosen to go down the wrong paths and there is honestly no telling where I would be today. I am just so thankful that I am a whosoever and that God sent His Son to die for me, to save my soul.

I am truly, truly blessed to say that the things I’ve always prayed for as a young girl are exactly what I am living as my reality right now. I prayed for a Godly husband, a safe and secure marriage, a man who would be loyal to me, a man who would nurture me, who cared for me, and who loved me for me. I had prayed for closer family relationships, loving in-laws, friends who would be there no matter what. I had prayed for stability, financial freedom, and structure. I had prayed for a closer relationship with Christ, to be able to study His Word, to be able to be a light to others. I had prayed for joy, for hope, for love, for contentment, for faithfulness, for kindness, for self-confidence, for a caring heart; and just looking back, God has blessed me immensely.

I think too many times, we start focusing on all the things that don’t go our way. The unanswered prayers, and why He didn’t make those desires of our hearts come true. I am so thankful that God knows what He is doing. I am thankful for the unanswered prayers, for the moments that He reminds us that He is the one who is in control. When we take a second and step out of the picture, stop looking at the stuff, and start thinking about the beautiful gifts he’s placed in our lives….WOW! We serve a mighty God.

Instead of tearing each other down, let’s pray for one another. Instead of being jealous of what material thing someone else may have, let’s take a look at our own lives and see where God has blessed. Because I can guarantee that once you stop comparing your life to someone else’s, you will be blown away by what a mighty God that we serve.

Leave a Reply

