All Things New

“And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new. And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true and faithful.” Revelation 21:5 KJV

Happy New Year, I’m a few days late, but hey it’s better late than never! Don’t you just love how a new year brings a new prospective to everyone? It seems like everyone is more optimistic this time of year. Dreaming, planning, goal setting and preparing for another year can be fun! I’ve spent a lot of time the past few days reflecting on 2016.

Last night I posted my first Bible Journal entry of 2017 on Instagram {see it here!} and I’m so excited to dive back in to that. I shared on my post a huge goal of mine for last year was to spend time reading the Bible from cover to cover. Bible Journaling was my outlet to dig in deep and truly study the Word of God. When I journal, I don’t just haphazardly throw some paint and words on a page, I spend time studying and understanding what I’m reading. Then, I find a way that I can express that through journaling so it makes it easier for me to remember. I’m a huge visual learner, ya’ll! I had a really good run going. But, I’ll be honest, I got totally discouraged in Leviticus. I just couldn’t get my mind to think about how I wanted to journal, so journaling fell on the backburner.  I occasionally would journal random scripture that was on my heart, or from a sermon; I just got so much more out of it when I was reading chapter by chapter. But in 2017, I’m starting in the New Testament and I’m so excited for this new start.

2016 brought a ton of new things for Thomas and I! New opportunities, new adventures, new cities, new emotions, new ideas, new everything really.

One of my favorite things from 2016 was all of our travels. I saw a quote on Pinterest, and it summed up my love for travel, so I have to share it! “I don’t want to spend decades on this planet and never see the diversity of places God created.” Thomas and I unanimously agreed that our trips were our favorite this year! If you haven’t figured it out – we LOVE to travel. I love seeing new places, and even visiting places we have been a million times before, even in our own backyard, and finding new experiences to enjoy. {You can follow along with our travels with the hashtag #theadventuresofthomthomandjordy on social media! And don’t you love our cheesy hashtag? I said it as a joke one weekend while camping and it stuck! We even used it as our hashtag for our wedding.} We visited lots of places we had been before but added so much more new to our travel map and it was so absolutely wonderful.  Some of our new trips from 2016 are below:

  • Road trip on our Washington, DC vacay and visited Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.
  • For my 25th birthday, we visited NYC and loved every second of it! {I seriously ask him almost every day if we can go back!}
  • For our One Year Anniversary, we did a road trip from San Francisco to Las Vegas with a few detours along the way. We stopped in so many cute little towns that I absolutely loved! But some well known spots  we stopped in, downtown San Fran, all the way down HWY 1 to Los Angeles, the Mojave Desert, Route 66 to Williams, AZ, up to the Grand Canyon, over to the Hoover Dam and a few days in Vegas. It was a whirlwind of a trip, that we both loved every second of. That one road trip checked off sooo many cities in California, Arizona, and Nevada from our map!

I love planning things ahead, and Thomas has ALWAYS made fun of me for it. But we planned all of these trips ahead this past year, and it was truly the best year of all for us. And guess who is so excited about these adventures, that now he’s charting out where we will traveling all the way to 2020?! I think I’ve wore off on him a bit! 😉

We had so many new opportunities and emotions this year it has really made us think and look at life differently. Thomas was promoted at work, and it has been so exciting. I am seriously so proud of him and the leader I’ve watched him grow into the past six months or so. We sold our house this year so we could move closer to Thomas’ new job, and I expected to cry like a baby on a daily basis after we moved out. But God, has given me a different set of eyes on all of it and now all I can think is the exciting opportunities up a head that would have never been possible if we hadn’t been obedient.

We experienced a surprising pregnancy in September, and then just eight short weeks later, a devastating loss as we suffered a miscarriage. This brought us closer together and made our marriage stronger than it had ever been before. I became friends in early 2016 with some of the most amazing and encouraging women, who were there for me at a time when I felt alone. Another reminder, that when God puts people in our lives, He always has a purpose. They too, had experienced the same loss and were able to help me through the emotions!

I grew closer to God in ways that I never thought would be possible. I spent more time in His Word and studying than I ever have in my life. We realized it’s not all about gifts and money, but more about what you do with what the Lord has blessed you with. We gave more and tried to help others more this year, and shared God’s love. We focused on quality time with loved ones this year, so it was amazing to get to make memories that will last a lifetime with our family and friends.

I started sewing last January, and since have made several quilt tops and projects! 2017 goal is to quilt them, but if you know quilting it may be a 2018 goal too, haha, I just get so distracted by new pretty fabrics! I started this blog, and it has been a wonderful outlet to just share my heart. To those of you, who have followed along on this blogging journey, I promise to do more in 2017. I’ve been blown away with the response  from those who follow me. For those who have told me I should write books, you tickle me! That may be a goal in the future, who knows. 😉

But, after all that, it’s a new year and I have a new focus.  I am truly so excited to see what 2017 brings for us {Hopefully a new house!}  and what the Lord will have us do for Him! Hope that each of you {if you’ve read through all my rambling and made it this far} have a blessed 2017!

Leave a Reply

