Walking by Faith

Yesterday as I was driving to work, I passed a blind man. I pass him often in my journeys around our small town, usually on side streets. But yesterday was different, he was walking down the side of our main Highway.  I saw him long before I got up close to him, and he was using his walking stick to guide the way. As I got closer, I saw that he picked the stick up and used it as if it was a hiking stick one would use in the woods.

I watched in my rear view mirror, as my car passed by, I saw him put the stick back down and let it guide his way again. Another car was coming up behind me, and he picked the stick up again as if it was a hiking stick and then once it passed he used it again as his guide.

I immediately thought of 2 Corinthians 5:7 KJV:

“For we walk by faith, not by sight:”

I’ve seen him walking before and have been concerned of his safety and obviously others have too because I’ve seen posts about him on social media, warning travelers to watch out and not to hit him. I’ve seen the comments of his family members of how he doesn’t want others to stop and help him. He didn’t want to be an inconvenience to others or to make anyone think he can’t get around on his own.

Yesterday he was hearing the cars, and when he heard them come up on him, he acted like he didn’t need the stick to guide him down the road. I started thinking about how we as Christians do the same. We always want it to appear that we can do everything on our own, and when others pass by we act like we are doing it all on our own. When truly we can’t do anything on our own, all that we do is through Him. What a beautiful reminder I had yesterday, how we all need to walk a little more by faith and not by our own sight.

Leave a Reply

