Getting Ourselves Out of the Way

 

8af1cfbe-6578-4508-8f63-11a9e25d5bef

Trusting God is simply that, believing that He loves you, He has good intentions for your life, will help, guide and direct you. Too many times we as Christians start trusting ourselves, what others say or think, or maybe even a bank account to make decisions instead of following God’s will for our lives and listening to his direction. More times than not, I start beating myself up and fill my head with thoughts of negativity. Like if I don’t have laundry done and put away, supper put on the table, the bed made after we get up, just normal day-to-day things, I get so overwhelmed and start thinking that I’m a horrible wife. A few weeks ago in a message at church, someone asked us to write down five things that we had done for God that day, and all I could think about was the focus that I had placed on all of the unimportant things I hadn’t done that I just mentioned. When really, if I would have been focusing on serving God the way that I am supposed to, all the other things would probably have fallen right into place.

I attended a funeral last Friday and a man got up and sang a song acapella and it’s been engraved on my heart and mind since then. The first verse and chorus says, “I thought number one would surely be me, I thought I could be what I wanted to be. I thought I could build on life’s sinking sand But I can’t even walk without you holding my hand. I can’t even walk without you holding my hand. The mountain’s too high and the valley’s too wide. Down on my knees, I learned to stay. And I can’t even walk without you holding my hand.” The next verse is the one I LOVE because the message is so clear. “I think I’ll make Jesus my One and my All From now on when in trouble, only His name I’ll call. And if I can’t trust Him, I’ll be less of a man, cause I can’t even walk without you holding my hand.” I am just simply amazed at how if you think about it, we truly can’t do anything without Christ. And if you keep on thinking, when you put God first and make Him your one and only His plan starts falling into perfect place. John 15:5 it says “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” And that’s so true, I can’t help but think of what I have kept myself from, or even more importantly who I could have witnessed to, if I got myself out of the way and put God first in everything.

Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the thoughts that I think of you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.” I read this scripture the other night, and really paused at the end of the verse. Before, I came to Calvary I didn’t use a KJV Bible, and several years ago, I had posted this verse on FB, coincidentally right after I had become friends with Mark. The NIV version ends with “to give you a hope and a future.” Mark quickly commented and said, the KJV says this. And I am so thankful that our God promises us an expected end. This verse is my life verse because of the promises that it speaks. That if we, would turn from our sin and give our lives to him, He will provide a life of peace, not evil, and would fulfil His promise of an expected end to us.

“Isaiah 41:9-10 Thou whom I have taken from the ends of the earth, and called thee from the chief men thereof, and said unto thee, Thou art my servant; I have chosen thee, and not cast thee away. Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” The verse doesn’t say I’ve brought you this far, now I’m going to let you figure out things on your own. He’s always there right beside us leading us, guiding us and ready to use if we only trust in Him. God has chosen each and every single one of us for a different purpose in life. I thought I knew what my purpose was on this earth, but I was living in my will instead of God’s. Since I’ve drawn closer and put more of my trust in Him, especially through Bible Journaling, He’s shown me that our plans were completely different. When we get our self out of the way, when we stop worrying about how we are going to do little things like put gas in the car, God always shows up and provides.

When feelings of doubt and insecurity creep in we, as women, tend to feel depressed, unworthy, or like a failure and we get stuck there. However, we weren’t created to be depressed, defeated, guilty, ashamed, or unworthy; we were created to be victorious and be a light so others may see Him through us.

A friend posted this on Instagram the other day and I fell in love with it, so I’m going to close with this. “Apart from the blood of Jesus, I am a flawed mess. I don’t have to beat myself up about it anymore. I understand it; I accept it. I am flawed – temptations will come. But I am His!! No matter what, I’m His. He takes me as I am, and loves me fully, the blemishes of both dark and light, steadfast and wandering, good & bad, happy & sad, strong & weak, driven & sensitive, courageous & anxious, energetic & tired, health & sick. He loves me, and I have learned to do so too. And this, has freed me to be. To simply be. ALL That He has created me to be.”

One thought on “Getting Ourselves Out of the Way

Leave a Reply

