“A Cord of Three Strands…”

d1e57f33-aa82-49e2-bbfc-7c6c5d32558d

” 9 Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour. 10 For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up. 11 Again, if two lie together, then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone? 12 And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.” | Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

This verse has been on my heart all week long. On Monday, it was all I could think about. We had Bible Study Monday night and Ms Mary shared on marriage, so I knew that last night I would be Bible Journaling this scripture.

Isn’t marriage just such a beautiful thing? My husband, Thomas, and I recently got married in October, and before the ceremony, everyone was asking us if we were excited for our wedding. I probably came across rude when I said that I was more excited about our life that we were going to start and build together than the actual ceremony. I know that God gave Thomas to me as the other half of me, he truly is my help-meet. I am so thankful that God blessed me with him to spend the rest of my life with.

When we got married, we wanted to incorporate God into our ceremony, because He was going to be a big part of our lives. I’ll go ahead and pre-face with this, we aren’t perfect people, we fail him daily. We don’t have a perfect marriage but when we face trials we have learned to fall to God and we are so blessed with what He reveals to us. Marriage is this weird thing where two completely different lives collide, and become one. There are new dynamics, new roles to fill, new things to think about each day. Part of marriage is washing clothes, paying bills, cooking dinner, taking care of each other but the most important part of it is trusting God, worshiping Him together, and leaning into Him for understanding, guidance and patience.

Have you ever heard the song, “Little is Much When God is in it?” I love it, and just the name of the song is so true. I could not imagine our lives without Christ. I couldn’t imagine not having the hope and the future that He has promised to us. I couldn’t imagine not having His Word to cling to and turn to when temptations, trials and disappointments arise. In our wedding ceremony, we had a board that my husband had made and had Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 painted on it. {Thomas pieced it together from the deckboards that he proposed to me on! Pictures below!} He drilled three holes for the three ropes and during our ceremony, I braided them together. This piece sits on our hearth in our living room. I see it, look at it and read it every day. I am so thankful that our marriage involves three, not just one or two, but three because we would truly be nothing without God.

12182498_10208229154475450_4054772202544713156_o 12188987_10208229209876835_2508224933686641802_n12186292_10208229204076690_8953303833404180073_o

3 thoughts on ““A Cord of Three Strands…”

Leave a Reply

