Washington DC Trip

 

We just got back yesterday from an adventure packed three days in the DC Area. I have always, always, ALWAYS wanted to go to DC and we finally made it happen! Apparently, when I booked our trip I booked the busiest time in Washington. I didn’t think that many people would flock to DC for Easter, but apparently I was wrong. I also didn’t take into account the popularity of the DC Cherry Blossoms, I mean really who knew that people come from all over the WORLD to see these budding trees? But much to our surprise, they were in peak while we were there! {and oh so gorgeous!}

12801677_10209367052242183_727055004893776777_n

My husband and I love to camp. We’ve had three different campers in the 2.5 years we have been together. Weekend getaways are our favorite and we have spent the past three weekends camping in various places close to home. My parents joined us on this trip so it made more sense to stay in our toy hauler instead of getting two hotel rooms. For our Washington stay we parked our camper north of DC at Cherry Hill Park.

Our first DC stop was Arlington National Cemetery, and WOW! what an experience. One that I will definitely never forget. We just missed the changing of the guards at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldiers, but had just walked up as they began to do a wreath exchange ceremony. But the respect I witnessed from the crowd who had gathered was amazing.

We had so many food recommendations from friends and family before we went so I searched them all before leaving and found the ones we definitely wanted to stop at. We grabbed lunch that day at Good Stuff Eatery and oh my gosh, that had to be the best burger I’ve ever eaten. I cheated on my diet big time at lunch and had a dreamy Salted Caramel Milkshake with my burger. Definitely recommend this little place!

Our first day, we made a big mistake! My husband loves to drive so he decided to tackle the task of driving around downtown DC. I highly recommend that if you plan on visiting DC, you ride the Metro, it is seriously the BEST way to get around. {Especially if you were trying to drive around in a F250 like we were! hehe} Parking wasn’t bad at Arlington, but when we wanted to walk around the National Mall, we wasted a good hour and a half sitting in downtown traffic/searching for a parking spot.

 After lunch {and finally finding a parking spot} we decided to go park the truck and ride the metro back in to town. My husband had never been downtown in a big city like this before so the metro was a completely new experience for him, I got so tickled watching him stop and look at everything while waiting on the tram. We are from a small town in NC and he was so culture shocked, he filmed and took pictures of every street side musician, every building and every nook and cranny in between!

12928420_10209368615041252_120768038192803560_n

Before we left for Washington, I had made our dinner reservations that night for The Old Ebbitt Grill, which is literally right beside the White House. I was so thankful that we had reservations, while we got to walk right in and sit down, the people that had just came off the street behind us had to wait 55 min! Their crab cakes were divine, and I totally recommend them. The old world/hunting club theme in this restaurant was so fun, and the air conditioner felt great after a hot day!

After dinner, we literally walked from one end of the National Mall to the other!  I think my dad’s step counter said we had over 19,000 steps that first day alone! Needless to say, we were absolutely pooped at the end of the day, but absolutely amazed at all DC had to offer.

Day 2, we had learned our lesson and rode into town on the metro, and it was a such a pleasant day! We knew we wanted to go to the Smithsonian’s and ended up tackling The National Air & Space Museum, The National Museum of American History, and The National Museum of Natural History.  Needless to say we are a little crazy! I would recommend two museums max in each day, my feet were killing me from standing so much. Since it was so crowded, we had to wait in line for security at all but the Natural History so that ate up some of our time. My personal favorite was the American History, I could have spent the whole day in there! My husband loved the Air & Space Museum and we even did a flight simulator there, which I’m pretty sure he kept us upside down the entire time. There is a McDonalds/Donatos/Boston Market attached to this so that was great to grab a quick lunch without having to come back in through the lines and security. We pretty much just ran in and saw the animals and the Hope Diamond in the Natural History Museum, and I’m so glad that we didn’t skip out on that.

For dinner that night, we just went back to the camper and ate snacks, we were so tired I think we were all asleep by 8:30!

The next day was when the real adventure began. My spontaneous husband decided since we had seen most everything we wanted to see in DC we would travel up North and off we went! We went from Cherry Hill Park through Maryland, Delaware, New Jersey to get to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. We made several stops along the way and had authentic Philly Cheese steaks from Pat’s in Philly! Another big diet breaker, but I was so excited and it was so delicious! {P.S. You really know when your from North Carolina when you just drop the tailgate and have a picnic in the middle of downtown Philadelphia.}

Over lunch I was searching online where we could go to in downtown Philly and found the infamous LOVE sign and the Liberty Bell. The line for the Liberty Bell and Independence Park wrapped around several blocks so we decided not to stop there but I was ecstatic to have our picture made in front of the LOVE sign! I’m so thankful that I got to experience this with the love of my life and the other half of my adventurous soul!

1013346_10209368766965050_8256424172967409962_n

From there we traveled to Atlantic City New Jersey, and down to Cape May to catch the Ferry to Lewes. This was a special treat after a day of riding, and paying for  a ton of tolls! We didn’t know it but there are tons of seats up top for you to sit in and if you get up there first your family can have a table by the window, which I definitely recommend. While on-board we got to see some big ships, dolphins and watch the sunset from the ferry and it was beautiful!

10399649_10209368768125079_6992694782128599177_n

The ferry arrives in the cutest town called Lewes Delaware. This town seriously reminded me of something that you read about in a Nicholas Sparks book, it was picture perfect! We had dinner at this perfect home turned into restaurant called The Buttery, they  have the most incredible crab cakes that I have EVER eaten in my entire life. I’m craving one just thinking about it! From there we drove back down to the campground and our crazy day of adventuring was over.

11059905_10209368768605091_5840662511567395540_n

This was  probably one of my favorite trips I’ve ever been on and I’m thankful for the opportunity to make these cherished memories. When I’m at home I love to have a schedule, I live by a planner. But this wonderful trip, full of spontaneity, adventures, and the people I love most was exactly what I needed! & yes, I’m already dreaming about our next adventure…

Leave a Reply

