Be STILL, and know.

Seriously, how great is our God? I am so thankful that He knows what all of our tomorrow’s hold. I’m so thankful that he provides exactly what we need before we even know that we need it.

Almost a week ago I finally decided to purchase my first journaling Bible, and I have become obsessed. I’m not creative when it comes to drawing, I’m sure there are three year olds that draw better than I do but I’m using this as a way to dig deeper and build my relationship with God. And, can I just say, after not even using it a week I already feel closer to God than I ever have before.

Last night, I sat down and opened my Bible, laid out my colored pencils, pens and markers and prayed. When I started this, I had started out just depicting random verses that God led me to then decided to tackle Genesis and start at the front and work my way through. But, obviously God had other plans in mind. When I prayed before my quiet time last night it’s like He told me just to open my Bible. I did, and this is what it opened to. I’ve heard “Be Still and know that I am God” countless times in the past year. But I had never really sat down on my own and dug into this particular scripture.

I started reading Psalm 46 from the beginning, the first verse is “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.” I continued reading; “Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the seaThough the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah. There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High. God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early. The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. Come, behold the works of the Lord, what desolations he hath made in the earth. He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire. 10 Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth11 The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.”

So why do we doubt God? Why do we turn from Him, not to Him when things start to go haywire. Let’s make a pact to dig a little deeper and cling to Him. Let’s shout His name from the rooftops because He is worthy.

Little did I know that this morning I would set myself into a state of panic over something I had ZERO control of. At that same moment, someone liked my Instagram photo that I posted of my journaling last night, causing my phone to light up. I swiped to the right to open the notification and there it was:

Be Still

My God knew what I would be facing today, long before He ever placed the scripture on my heart last night. He knew that during my moment of panic this morning someone would like that photo and show me the reminder I needed to see.

I need only to be still, because I know that He is God.

Leave a Reply

